Don’t forget me

what if you forget me, the
sound my voice makes when
i see you after being gone all
day; what if you forget the
length of my arms that wrap
around you or the width of
my smile when I look into
your eyes; what if you forget
the depth of my love and
longing to be near you, to be
included in your life, as you
grow and open your wings;
what if your forget the stories
i told you at night, tucking
you into bed and planting one
last kiss on your cheek; what
if you forget what life is like
with me in it, being there,
helping you through the
tough times that brought
you despair; what if you don’t
remember that you are
everything to me, that which
fills my soul and makes the
sun a happy yellow; please,
please, never forget.

                                 Jaymes Ian Woode

2 responses to “Don’t forget me

  1. An intense sentiment that so many parents share. We put so much time energy and passion into our kids and we never want them to forget how much we lov(ed) them. It is hard to let them go and watch them grow up. Lovely words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

